ANNOUNCEMENT: The 6th MS Top 50 will be announced February 23, 2023. Nominations for 7th MS Top 50 open in October 2023!   Learn More

Elected and Appointed Government Officials 2017

Mississippi's Top 50 Most Influential

23 of 27

Robyn Tannehill, Mayor of Oxford

Robyn Tannehill would hardly imagine when she came to Oxford as a freshman in 1988 that 30 years later she’d be sworn in as its 36th Mayor after having served as Alderwoman.

Upon graduating from the University of Mississippi, Robyn worked in the University of Mississippi’s Department of Public Relations before being named Assistant Director of the Oxford-Lafayette County Chamber of Commerce and Economic Development Foundation. Then, as Executive Director of the Oxford Tourism Council, she promoted Oxford as a tourism destination. Robyn led her team in conceiving, organizing and conducting the first annual Double Decker Arts Festival.

Robyn established The Tannehill Agency, a marketing, advertising and public relations firm. Two years later, she sold the business to The Godwin Group, where she continued to serve as a Senior Vice-President. In 2002, Robyn made the decision to become a full-time mother and community volunteer.

In those years of community service, Robyn spent many hours working with the Oxford School District’s Parent Teacher Organizations and volunteering in the school district. In 2011 she co-chaired the $30 million bond referendum campaign for the Oxford Public School District. That same year, Robyn was recognized as Oxford School District’s Citizen of the Year.

Robyn has been named as Mississippi Business Woman of the Year, as one of the “Top 40 Business People Under 40”, and as one of the “Top 50 Business Women in Mississippi.” She is a past recipient of the University of Mississippi’s Young Alumnus of the Year award. Additionally, she has served on the University of Mississippi’s Alumni Board of Directors, as President of the Oxford-Lafayette County Chamber of Commerce, as founding member of Christ Presbyterian Church and as President of the Yoknapatawpha Arts Council.